Changing Your Routine

Copyright 2015 – Sweet Doll Designs
Copyright 2015 – Sweet Doll Designs

I am not a huge fan of change.  I’ll wager a guess that most people share my sentiments.  But, as they say, the only constant in life is change…so I guess we’ll have to get used to it!

As I mentioned in a recent post, I had to find a new job a few months ago.  The process was scary, exhausting, exciting, and ultimately, rewarding since I love my new job!  One thing that I didn’t consider until after my first full month of working at my new job was that I’d also have to change my routine when it came to paying my bills.

For nearly 10 years, I was used to receiving my paycheck on the 10th and the 26th of the month.  At my new job, I get paid on the 15th and the 30th/31st of the month.  At first, this may seem like no big deal.  However, I took a while to think about how to organize my bill paying routine going forward so that I could make sure I was paying my bills on time each month.

In the past, I paid bills on the 10th and the 26th.  That seemed to work out with the due dates of my bills.  Even though I get paid about 5 days later than I used to, the new schedule really doesn’t jive with my bill due dates.  From what I could tell, I had three options:

  1. Stop paying bills – who needs them, anyway?!
  2. Call my providers and request new due dates for my bills
  3. Change my well-established bill paying routine and – gasp – come up with a new one!

We’d all love the first option, but being realistic, I struck that one off my list.  While the second option was a valid one, it felt like too much work.  That left me with option #3 and I thought I could be brave and make a change, and that’s just what I did.

Now I sit down at the beginning of the month and write all my checks and schedule all my bill payments.  I know how much money to expect will arrive in each paycheck and by the beginning of the month, I know how much I will spend on bills and savings that month.  I can also be sure that I leave enough money in my checking account to pay the rent due on the 1st of the following month.  If I’ve written a check, I will put a reminder in my phone calendar to mail the check on a certain date so that it will arrive at the provider by the due date.

So far, organizing my bill paying at the beginning of each month is working out well for me.  It gives me a feeling of control over my finances and peace of mind that I won’t miss any due dates.

Have you come across an instance where you’ve had to make an unanticipated change with organizing your finances?  Post in the comments below!

Happy Decoding!

Fun fact for today: The current design of the penny with Lincoln’s face on it has been in circulation since 1909.  Previous penny designs featured Lady Liberty on the front of the coin.  (Source: http://www.ehow.com/about_5278127_lincoln-penny.html)

Leave a Reply

